The family watching the 2018 total solar eclipse in Athens, Tennessee
With my dad in Portland, Maine (2019)

About Kyla

Thank you so much for visiting my site! I am so happy you’re here!

Here’s a little bit about me.

I am originally from Colorado. I grew up in a small town in the southwestern region of the state. When you think of a Coloradoan you probably picture an outdoorsy person, someone who is sun-kissed and knows how to ski. I’m at least one of those—though I have never gone skiing. I absolutely love the outdoors, especially the mountains. They are my lifeforce and even now, being away from them I hold onto their power in my writing. I know that sounds cheesy but it’s the truth. They’re magnetic.

I have always been a writer. I wrote my first “book” when I was 8 years old, even designed the cover. It was called Elephant & Tiger. In high school when my classmates were struggling to figure out what they were going to do after, I knew—I was going to go to college for English then be a writer. It just was a simple fact. That’s who I am.

I attended Colorado State University in Fort Collins, Colorado and earned much more than just an English degree. I learned how to survive. I supported myself through college while taking on extra classes so that I could earn three minors in addition to my degree. (I was always labelled “The Over Achiever”). In four years I earned a Bachelor of the Arts in English, concentrating in Creative Writing and a minor each in Spanish, Business Administration and Horticulture. Why horticulture? It’s okay, everyone asks. CSU is one of the leading Agriculture schools in the country, why not study something related to ag science while I’m there. And… to be completely honest I was very bored with liberal arts classes. I wanted a change. So I went to the Horticulture faculty advisor, said I was an English major wanting a horticulture minor. He looked at me quizzically for about half a second and then beamed a smile. He said he’d love to have someone who could write in the program. It wasn’t easy, three minors and a bachelors. I learned how to time manage and would sometimes have to prioritize and miss out on certain elements of my courses. I passed though with what I consider a stellar GPA considering my workload (3.1).

After graduating my family and I moved out east. I stopped in Pennsylvania for a while. It didn’t fit me. So I moved to Baltimore. Leaving the place that you have called home for over 23 years leaves one searching for a second home wherever they’re at. I found this second home in Baltimore.

Realizing that if I wanted a real job in writing I would need an MFA degree I found the perfect program at The University of Baltimore. As of May 2021 I have graduated and have been published! I’m officially a writer!

For the last three years I have been a freelance editor. I love editing almost more than I love writing so if you ever need that second pairs of eyes, hop over to the contact page and drop me an email.

Thank you so much for visiting and for reading! Parallel Lines is just the beginning so check back for updates on my latest projects!

Me and my kitten baby Cora
Fishing on the Patuxent River (2020)
Outside of Las Vegas, Nevada in 2019. The first time I was in a desert in 5 years.
%d bloggers like this: